Spending Updates 11 – 17 Apr 2014

Beg. Balance End Balance
Clothing 8.5 8.5
Entertainment 50 22
Dine Out 50 34
Misc. 50 -178.28

Friday
Translink – $2.75Coffee – $3
Liquor – $22
Pizza – $16
Saturday
Translink – $2.75
Sunday – No Spend Day
Monday
Translink – $2.75
CFA Mock – $100
Tuesday
Coffee – 3
Wednesday
Dentist – $35
Thursday
The Bay – $85

You know one of those times when you just want to spend money. Some form of retail therapy.  Well last week was one of those days for me. I spent quite a fair bit over the budget. Especially in the misc. section, which prompt me to re-think my budget allocation. Personal care like make-up, beauty products (from lotion to skin care) and personal hygiene (women-specific product). Yes, these items do not occur on a regular basis, but when they do, they cost a lot.

Another category that I have in mind is personal development. Which should cover the courses and certification that I intend to take. Be it professional courses such as CSC or CFA, or leisurely courses like sketching/drawing, etc.

Besides the slightly extra transit and coffee, and Friday night pigging out session with one of my girlfriend, the rest of the items are basically what I mentioned above. Spent $100 for 2 mock exam session for my CFA prep. It is an optional item, but I though I need it. Either to ‘scare’ me into studying, or just to experience what the actual exam will be like, since the structure will follow the actual ones.

I also went to my dentist for the regular yearly or semi-annual checkout (I missed the last one). I have 80% coverage for that. So the remaining balance is only about $35, but at the same time I have an appointment for my mini cavity, so another money money out.

The biggest chunk of the spending would be from my new skin care. Several of my beauty product is low and I have been feeling slightly frustrated with my dry/dehydrated/sensitive skin. I am not 100% sure, but it varies between these 3 throughout the year. I am sure, however, that I do not deal with acne problem. Anyway, what’s shown here, from The Bay is just part 1 of the skin care expenditure. I got a Lancome Bienfait Gift Set ; which supposed to be more hydrating. The set has a tube of facial wash, serum, day cream and night cream. Lancome was also having a promotion when I purchased this set. I received 7 pcs gift with a pouch; similar product were in the freebies, which I could bring to gym.

So that’s that for the week, I feel good and feel bad at the same time about my spending… >.<

 

 

Leave a Reply

