Unplugged

Recently I have read a bunch of articles with regards to unplugging. It is very ironical how not too long ago we dream of being connected with everything and everyone, and now that we do, we try to unplug. It is definitely not an easy task. And at this time and age, it is not possible to go completely cold turkey.

Staying connected every minute has its own pros and cons, obviously. Since we’re looking at reducing the online time, I am going to focus more on the negative side of it. The few articles I read touched on these few subjects.

  1. The blue light from the screen of ipad/laptop/phone is disrupting to your sleep cycle.

This is quite a big deal for me, because as it is, I have slight ‘issue’ of falling asleep. So I try to limit gadget usage by 8pm and if we’re watching TV, at the latest by 9pm. Then continued by reading books prior to falling asleep. Yes mine is e-reader, but it’s the one without the backlight (Sony E-reader). And I can’t use it if my surrounding is dark, exactly like a book.
In addition, now I will be able to catch up with my reading and be more on track with my goal of 30 book for 2014.

Related : Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card

2.Β  ‘Do Not Disturb Mode’

Kinda related to no. 1. I leave my phone atso the phone will not vibrate if there’s any phone call or messages or whatsapp or whatnot. And the screen won’t even light up. I’m a light sleeper and vibrations annoy the hell out of me when I’m just thisss close to falling asleep. Cuz I’ll be alert after that and will take me another 15 minutes or so to fall asleep.

3. Saturday Unplugged

I’ve been waking up early on Saturday mornings and go to Starbucks to study. I intend to keep this up, even after my exam. Not to study, of course, but just to go out, read, people-watch, or ‘eavesdrop’ here and there (hey, it’s Starbucks, if you’re not whispering, everyone can hear you). Or you know, just go out and about, and unplug in general. I might even pick up a notebook just to doodle some stuff in. And I figured I could update my Unplug Experiences of the day….

Leave a Reply

