Durian

I was reading this forum about Nanaimo and Vancouver Island. My friend and I are planning to visit the islands after my exam, for like a couple of days and we’re trying to figure out what is there to do there. I came across a posting of Durian with the caption, ‘I don’t know what it is, but it smells awful’. Gave me a chuckle.

I love durian, it is one of the tastiest fruit. The smell, though, it’s one of those things where you either love it or hate it, there’s no middle ground.

For us, Asian who lives or had lived in the East, durian is just, you know, durian, but for the westerner, it pose some kind of a challenge. I have a friend from Australia (not exactly from the West, but you know), who is willing to try any food basically. The spicy Indonesian ‘sambal’, the messy-looking oyster omelette, but he REFUSED to try durian. I dont get it, but I guess I understand.

One of my favourite durian product is the puree; like this. You can get it for like SGD 6-ish at a dessert place in Singapore. yummm….

Leave a Reply

